Hack Your City

How will mobility in cities work in the future? How green will our cities be? How can the city of the future be supplied with energy? Such complex questions need interdisciplinary answers. At hackathons and city labs interested citizens are encouraged to become into city developers.

In labs hobby and professional researchers will try out new approaches and hacks to solve their cities’ problems. In Cologne and Berlin the participants can solder, code or design. It is up to them whether they want to create an app, a website, a machine or a completely analogue object.

Researchers will work together with citizens, municipalities and start-ups to develop smart solutions to societal challenges. Whether it is climate change, energy supply, mobility or supporting communities: the answers to these challenges must be realized locally.

Newsletter

Citizen Science Projects

Störche

Cycle Philly

An App that receives data over GPS to know where people like to ride their bicycle. The goal is to give city planners the possibility to plan more to the needs of the people. > View project

Luftballon

Open Water Project

Give the interested citizens the possibility to measure the quality of their water, share it and analyze it. This is the vision of the open water project. Together they build an affordable and easy to rebuild DIY tool. > View project

Luftballon

Smart Citizen

A platform to connect projects and ideas of activists around the issue of citizen science. With many examples for the use of open source tools that give citizens the opportunity to shape their city. > View project

Störche

Animal Tracker

The project of the Max Planck Institute help citizen ornithologists and scientists to get data about the routes of birds and put the information to disposal. > View project

Hack Your City Wissenschaftsjahr Zukunftsstadt 2015

Wieviel Land braucht die Stadt? Wie grün werden unsere Städte sein? Wie ernähren und bewegen wir uns in der Stadt der Zukunft? Solche komplexen Fragen erfordern interdisziplinäre Antworten. Im Rahmen von Hackdays und Stadtlaboren im Wissenschaftsjahr 2015 – Zukunftsstadt machen wir interessierte Bürger zu Stadtgestaltern.

In Citizen Science Labs, die Teil von Code for Germany sind, werden HobbyforscherInnen und ForscherInnen neue Ansätze und Hacks für die Probleme unserer Städte erproben. Es kann im Berlin, Karlsruhe, Dortmund, Wuppertal, Dresden und Leipzig gelötet, programmiert, oder designt werden. Dabei ist offen, ob am Ende eine App, eine Website, eine Maschine oder ein ganz anderes Objekt entsteht.

Das Wissenschaftsjahr zeigt, wie die Forschung eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Stadt ermöglicht. WissenschaftlerInnen entwickeln gemeinsam mit BürgerInnen, Kommunen und Wirtschaft kluge Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen. Egal ob Klimawandel, Energiesicherheit, gute Arbeit oder das soziale Miteinander: die Antwort darauf muss auf kommunaler Ebene verwirklicht werden können.
Die Wissenschaftsjahre sind eine Initiative des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gemeinsam mit Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD). Sie fördern den Austausch zwischen Öffentlichkeit und Forschung.

Newsletter

Citizen Science Projekte

Störche

Cycle Philly

Eine App, die per GPS Daten entgegen nimmt, um herauszufinden, wo Menschen am Liebsten Fahrrad fahren. Das Ziel ist es, mit diesen Daten Stadtplanern die Möglichkeit zu geben, auf die Bedürfnisse der Fahrradfahrer besser einzugehen. > Zum Projekt

Luftballon

Open Water Project

Interessierten Bürgern die Möglichkeit geben die Qualität von Gewässern zu messen, zu teilen und zu analysieren. Das ist die Vision des Open Water Projects! Gemeinsam haben sie ein günstiges und leicht nachzubauendes DIY-Tool entwickelt. > Zum Projekt

Luftballon

Smart Citizen

Eine Plattform zur Vernetzung von Projekten, Ideen und Aktivistinnen rund um Citizen Science. Mit zahlreichen Beispielen für die Verwendung von Open Source Tools, die Bürgern die Möglichkeit geben, ihre Stadt mitzugestalten. > Zum Projekt

Störche

Animal Tracker

Das vom Max-Planck Institut in einem Schülerworkshop entwickelte Projekt hilft Hobby-Ornithologen und Forscherinnen dabei, Daten über die Flugrouten von Zugvögeln zu aggregieren und stellt diese Informationen gleichzeitig offen zur Verfügung. > Zum Projekt